top of page

autumn 2023 is nearly here... and with it creating my own feelings of Hygge


Well, hello there! Fancy meeting you here! It's been a while, hasn't it? I haven't been very active on here as of late, especially with my monthly newsletter, but this summer has been EPIC guys, and I can't believe it's already August. Now don't get me wrong, I have missed posting on here, but the motivation just hasn't been there.

So as we hit a new season, I thought you may enjoy a post about my plans for autumn, some new books and TV shows and overall autumnal inspiration!

Autumn is my favorite time of year - the crisp outside air, the cozy layered sweaters, and the afternoons spent reading books or watching movies with a fire burning... ahhhhhhhh, doesn't it just sound perfect?

As September quickly approaches, I'd like to share with you all a word that I would like to highlight this season - "Hygge" (hoo-guh).

Now, what the heck it Hygge? XD Well, the actual defintion is this:

invoking or fostering a sense of coziness, contentment, and well-being. Originating in Denmark, hygge is all about living comfortably and encouraging feelings of coziness. Read more about it here

Does that not feel like the PERFECT word to describe autumn?

What would a autumnal-themed post be without some aesthetic inspiration? I've seen some other bloggers to this recently, so why not take a shot at it as well!

Enjoy browsing through these photo collages of all that is autumn!


// Nature //


// Fashion //


// Hygge //


// Pumpkins //


Now, autumn wouldn't wouldn't be autumn without books, right? Although I will continue reading school books, I do have a few joy-reads that I have lined up for this coming season...

The Little White Horse by Elizabeth Goudge

I've already started this book, but currently in the process of finishing up the Love Comes Softly series (Janette Oke), it's been slow going. Since reading it for the first time a few years ago, I've forgotten how charming and nostalgic this book really is. The imagery the author paints is so enchanting, I wish I could be in the places the book describes.

Frankenstein by Mary Shelly

A classic spooky story about the terrifying creation of one man, "Frankenstein" is a great book for this cold and dreary season. I read this book for the first time last year, and although I didn't enjoy it as much as I thought, I still think it's worth re-reading, and seeing if maybe it just needs to be read during the right time. ;)

The Vanderbeekers at Last by Karina Glaser

*Sniff* I can't believe this series is coming to a close! :( I've enjoyed the other six books so much, I just wish this series could go on forever! But, regardless, I'm looking forward to getting to read this last book in the series, although the summary sounds rather sad... I guess we'll have to see! I'm sure it will be very bittersweet...

And onto autumnal movies! I have several TV series I would LOVE to re-watch these coming months, and I thought I'd share them. It can be very difficult to find clean, wholesome shows and movies, so read on for some inspo!

All Creatures Great and Small (2020 TV series)

I cannot WAIT to re-watch this 3-season show, it is so sweet and cozy, I plan to get finished by around Christmastime. This is set in small-town Darrowby in Northern England, a charming village with a lovely array of kind (and sometimes strange) people. The show tells all about James Herriot a local vet and his love for the people and animals alike. Such a charming series, and definitely recommended!

When Calls the Heart (TV series)

With the long windy days coming, I thought this classic Hallmark series would be a great add to the feelings of the season. So far, I've only been able to get as far as season three, I hope that maybe this time around I can make it to the newer season (though I have heard several people say they did not like the later seasons...). This show follows young Elizabeth Thatcher, and schoolteacher who comes to Coal Valley to teach the children of this small mining village. But as she finds out, this town holds much more for her and her future...

Pride and Prejudice (BBC TV series)

And lastly, I'd LOVE to get around to watching this version of Jane Austen's beloved story of Lizzie Bennett and her crazy family. I've heard many good things about this version, specifically the accuracy to the book, so I thought I'd give it a try!

Have you watched any of these? If so, let me know in the comments below along with some of your favorite movie / show suggestions!


And as we close, I think it would be appropriate to leave you with some quotes of the season:

“I'm so glad I live in a world where there are Octobers.” ― L. M. Montgomery, Anne of Green Gables
“I would rather sit on a pumpkin, and have it all to myself, than be crowded on a velvet cushion.” ― Henry David Thoreau
“He found himself wondering at times, especially in the autumn, about the wild lands, and strange visions of mountains that he had never seen came into his dreams.” ― J.R.R. Tolkien, The Fellowship of the Ring
“Her pleasure in the walk must arise from the exercise and the day, from the view of the last smiles of the year upon the tawny leaves and withered hedges, and from repeating to herself some few of the thousand poetical descriptions extant of autumn--that season of peculiar and inexhaustible influence on the mind of taste and tenderness--that season which has drawn from every poet worthy of being read some attempt at description, or some lines of feeling.” ― Jane Austen, Persuasion

Thank you friends so much for reading to this point, I really enjoyed writing this post, just as I hope it gave you some excitement for the coming season! I will try to continue posting once a month, but like always, plans sometimes change! :P Regardless, have a lovely rest of the month!


Now it's your turn!

What are your plans for autumn?

What is your favorite thing about this season?

Do you prefer hot or cold weather?

What are your reading right now?

Please share in the comments below this post! <3

0 comments

Related Posts

See All
bottom of page