top of page

Young Writer's Series {Part One} - How to Create / Maintain a Consistent Writing Schedule


Welcome to part one of Fiddling on the Farm's new series - The Young Writer's Series! Part one (this post) is going to be about how to create / maintain a consistent writing schedule. I talked a little about this in a recent post, 6 things that will improve your writing and consistency, but I'm going to be expanding on that topic and more from that post in the following series, so to get a heads-up on what's coming in the next few weeks, make sure to check out that past post! Okay, now to get into the first part of The Young Writer's Series! Read on, fellow writers!


HOW TO CREATE / MAINTAIN A CONSISTENT WRITING SCHEDULE

Let me begin by saying that a schedule is not for everyone. Some writer's can write consistently every day and not need a schedule. I am definitely NOT that person! I need a visible planner telling me what I need to do that day (relating to my writing). If I don't have that, then I either forget to do it, or I "don't feel like it" (a common quote from yours truly). So for those who don't feel a need for a schedule or writing plan, you can skip this post if you'd like and wait for the next post in the series... but for those like me, THIS IS FOR YOU! I've had several things that have helped me with staying consistent in the past few months, so that's what I'm going to be sharing below!


HAVE A PRINTED SCHEDULE TO MARK OFF DAILY

This has been a HUGE help in the past few weeks when I just don't feel like getting on my computer and writing. When I see my schedule, I instantly know that I have to write my assigned 100 words (or whatever I have set as a daily goal). I have a simple calendar with the month, my goals, and then each day what has to be done ( "write 100+ words" for Month One). This is something I would highly suggest for anyone who has trouble staying consistent. Below is the September writing calendar I use:

So as you can see, I prefer to write Mondays, Tuesdays, Thursdays and Fridays. This works with my schedule, but you need to find out what works for you! Just experiment - try different days - maybe the weekend works best for you!


WRITE IN A INSPIRATIONAL / RELAXING PLACE

Writing in a place were you can be relaxed and find inspiration is a big factor in maintaining a consistent schedule. Who wants to continue to write, when it will be loud, boring and dull? So find a special corner in your room, or be outside at a park or under a tree, just find a quiet space to write your best.

One thing that really affects my writing is the noise around me, so I make sure that nobody is around when I write, because that's when I concentrate the best. Just find what works best for you!

Here are some ideas of where you can write:

~ Under a tree

~ On your bed

~ Outside in the garden

~ A corner in your room

~ On the couch

~ In a quiet building (barn, shed, greenhouse, etc.)

~ A closet

~ With a favorite pet (to get some moral support <3 )


CHALLENGE YOURSELF

I will continue to tell ALL young writers to START SMALL. You don't need to write a great work of literature in a few weeks! Don't do more than you can handle, and don't overload yourself until it's not enjoyable anymore. Just start small, and gradually add more words to your daily goal - start with only one hundred words a day (honestly, it takes about five to ten minutes to write one hundred words...), then challenge yourself a little more and write two hundred words a day.

Just don't stick with the same schedule, and add more as you continue to progress.

Also, if you feel like your in a 'schedule slump', see if a friend would want to do a challenge with you, it's a lot more fun to do things with a fellow writer.

 

Thanks for reading this weeks post! This was Part One of the Young Writer's Series, and I hope you will keep an eye out for Part Two coming soon! Comment below, and tell me your experience with writing, and what helped you stay consistent!


A CLOSING QUOTE FROM LOUISA MAY ALCOTT ~

“I want to do something splendid…

Something heroic or wonderful that won’t be forgotten after I’m dead…

I think I shall write books.” ― Louisa May Alcott

2 comments
bottom of page